Recent Sign Shooting Caught on Tape in Micco
A Micco, Florida man was recently caught on surveillance camera shooting an FPL sign (Florida Power and Light Company), according to Orlando News 6. The man had been shooting the sign, placed at the FLP solar power plant, every time it was replaced. Officials finally equipped the area with a surveillance camera and light on the gate nearby the sign. The footage captured clearly shows a white male shoot the sign, then shoot and destroy the camera. According to an FLP spokesperson, “We take matters like this extremely seriously, which is why we’ve been working hand-in-hand with the Brevard County Sheriff’s Office. . . to ensure he’s arrested and prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law.”
Firearms are highly restricted and controlled in Florida, and laws range from transporting a firearm in a car, concealed carry (which is illegal throughout the state), open carry, taking the firearm into certain establishments and public areas, and, of course, where a firearm can legally be discharged. Even though the man in the above news story was firing his pistol in an area far away from others, he was still violating multiple laws, including destruction of property as well as discharging a firearm in public or on residential property, as per Florida statute 790.15.
First Degree Misdemeanor
It is a first degree misdemeanor to discharge a firearm in a public or private place, including firing it over the right of way (over a street) of any paved highway, road, street, or occupied premises. Moreover, it is also a violation of this statute to recklessly or negligently discharge a firearm outside on any property where the primary use is that of a dwelling, in which the property has a residential density of one or more unit dwellings per acre of land. This statute also applies to target practice. A first degree misdemeanor is punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 and one year in jail. Prosecutors can charge multiple misdemeanor charges in the same day, as well. For example, if you did target practice in the morning, then later did more target practice in the afternoon or evening, you could be charged with multiple counts of unlawfully discharging a firearm.
Second and Third Degree Felonies
A third degree felony is punishable by a fine of up to $5,000 and five years in prison, while a second degree felony is punishable by up to $5,000 and 15 years in prison.
- It is a third degree felony for a driver to direct an occupant to discharge a firearm from inside the vehicle; and
- It is a second degree felony to discharge a firearm from a vehicle within 1,000 feet of any person.
Call a West Palm Beach Lawyer for Legal Defense
For defense against the charges set against you, an experienced attorney is absolutely necessary. Do not wait a minute longer to pick up the phone and call the West Palm Beach law offices of the Skier Law Firm today for experienced, aggressive legal defense of your rights.