Two Women Face Charges in Snatch and Grab of Cell Phone

Two women are facing charges after an altercation with a third woman broke out at a laundromat. According to police, the woman began arguing with the third woman and during this squabble, they snatched her cellphone. The two women remained on the lam for a period of time until they were scooped up by the U.S. Marshals. They are now facing charges of robbery, battery, and deprivation of 911. Below, we’ll take a look at the charges.

Robbery by sudden snatching

Robbery by sudden snatching is actually a crime on the books and has its own statute. “Snatch and grab” crimes such as pickpocketing and purse grabbing usually fall under this statute. Essentially, if you deprive someone of their property by suddenly grabbing it, you are guilty of robbery by sudden snatching. It is considered a third-degree felony in Florida which carries a maximum sentence of 5 years in state prison. If you have a gun on you at the time of the robbery, it is considered a second-degree felony even if the gun was not used to affect the robbery.


Battery or simple battery involves non-consensual touching of another individual. It does not necessarily include violence. It certainly does not require that the victim sustain an injury. If the victim does sustain an injury or a weapon was used, then the charge becomes an aggravated battery. When there is serious bodily injury or death, the sentences escalate considerably. You cannot accidentally commit battery, but there is no requirement that you intend to injure the person either. Nonetheless, intending to injure someone is considered battery in most cases.

Deprivation of 911

Generally speaking, this is a statute used to pile on charges during domestic violence disputes. If an abuser attempts to deprive a victim of their ability to call the police, they can be charged under this statute. This is not a fun rule to be charged under. If the victim was calling to report a misdemeanor battery, then the charge for depriving them of the ability to do so is a third-degree felony. If they are calling to report a felony battery, then the charge of deprivation is considered a second-degree felony which is punishable by up to 10 years in state prison.

Tallying the charges

The defendants face two felonies and one misdemeanor for a possible maximum sentence of 11 years. The prosecution will need to establish that the phone was taken to prevent the individual from calling 911. They will also have to prove that a battery on the victim did occur. The theft of the phone is the strongest charge the prosecution has. Since this was a crime of impulse, probation could be a likely outcome if the defendants have few priors.

Talk to a West Palm Beach Criminal Defense Attorney

The Skier Law Firm, P.A. represents the interests of those who have been charged with criminal conduct in West Palm Beach. Call our West Palm Beach criminal lawyers today to discuss your situation and we can begin preparing your defense immediately.


Related Posts
  • PBC Inmate Overdoses on Fentanyl Read More
  • 81-Year-Old Florida Man Facing Charges After Traffic Fatality Read More
  • Social Media and Texting Can Land You Behind Bars Read More