A Jacksonville man, who is known as the San Marco Streaker, was arrested for streaking in early March. It was the sixth arrested for streaking, and the second in the last week, according to News 4 Jax. Witnesses, who have spotted him in a church parking lot as well as a local medical center, have reported him standing naked while touching himself inappropriately. One of the women who witnessed the most recent indecent exposure said that, “He literally had parked in the back of our building, got out naked, walked up the side of our building, looked in our windows, saw us see him, then walked back to his car and drove off naked. I mean, you start to settle down and realize this could’ve been a dangerous situation.” Police reports of years past reveal that he told an officer that “he couldn’t help himself, and he had to get naked for women.” Streaking may be more of a laughing matter in many types of circumstances, but even then the penalties can be harsh.
Exposure of Sexual Organs
As per Florida statute 800.03, it is unlawful for a person to expose or exhibit their sexual organs in an indecent manner in public as well as the private premises of another party. Additionally, it is unlawful to expose oneself so as to be seen from any private or public place, notwithstanding where the place serves such purpose (such as a locker room). Breastfeeding a baby is not in violation of this law. By violating this statute, an offender will be charged with a first degree misdemeanor, punishable in Florida by up to 12 months in jail and maximum fine of $1,000.
Lewd or Lascivious Act
A lewd or lascivious act is an obscene gesture or act done with the purpose of making the perpetrator sexually aroused, or sometimes to whom the act is directed. Lewd or lascivious acts are unlawful in Florida, and are punishable as a second degree misdemeanor under Florida’s Unnatural and lascivious act statute 800.02.
Lewd or Lascivious Offenses Committed Against a Person Under 16
Committing a lewd or lascivious act against a person under the age of 16 years old is a felony, as described in statute 800.04. Consent, nor ignorance of the victim’s age, is not a defense for an adult offender. Lewd or lascivious battery is committed when an adult engages in sexual activity with a person under the age of 16 but 12 years old or older, or my encouraging, enticing, or forcing a person under the age of 16 to engage in sadomasochistic abuse, sexual bestiality, prostitution, or any other act involving sexual activity. A violation of this law is a second degree felony. A first degree felony is committed when a person commits the above and in the process, commits sexual battery as well. Lewd or lascivious molestation is committed when a person intentionally touches the breasts, genital area, genitals, buttocks, or the clothing covering those areas if the person is under the age of 16, or forces or entices them to touch the perpetrator. The violation for molestation is a life felony, first degree felony, second degree felony, or third degree felony depending on the age of the victim.
Call Us Today
Contact the West Palm Beach attorneys of the Skier Law Firm at (561) 220-3355 for immediate legal assistance if you have been charged with any of the above crimes. We are prepared to help you with your case.