Close Menu
West Palm Beach Criminal Attorney > Florida Criminal Defense Video FAQs > Once charges have been filed against me, how long before I receive a trial?

Once charges have been filed against me, how long before I receive a trial?

Video Transcription:

The answer to that question is dependent on whether you have been charged with a misdemeanor or a felony. In the state of Florida, the state attorney’s office has 90 days to bring forward a case that has been charged as a misdemeanor. In cases that have been charged as felonies, the state has 180 days from the date of the arrest to bring the case to trial. However, you should be aware of the fact that sometimes there are instances when your lawyer believes that you should waive or give up your right to a speedy trial. If the circumstances suggest that a quick trial is appropriate, then of course you would not waive that right.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

© 2020 The Skier Law Firm, P.A. All rights reserved.
This law firm website and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin