Fake ID Charges
A Brevard County man was arrested for selling fake IDs to undocumented immigrants, according to WFTV News, and police said that the IDs were of high quality and going for $160 each. According to Detective Weigel, “It was good documentation. I mean, it’s good fake documentation. However, we were clearly able to tell they were not real.” Anyone who has been charged with possession of a fake identification (ID) needs to get in contact with an attorney immediately. While this offense is by no means on par with a serious violent crime, it can still jeopardize your job, lead to large fines, and go on your permanent record.
Possession of a Fake Identification Card or Driver’s License
According to Florida statute 322.212, it is unlawful for any person to knowingly have on their possession a fake ID. This includes any blank, stolen, forged, fictitious, counterfeit or unlawfully issued identification card or driver’s license, including anything that could be used to resemble a driver’s license or identification card. Possession of a fake ID is a third degree felony.
Selling Fake IDs
It is a third degree felony, punishable by up to five years in prison, to knowingly deliver, manufacture, or sell (or offer to do any of those things) a counterfeit, unlawfully issued, fictitious, forged, blank, or stolen driver’s license, identification card, or instrument that resembles a driver’s license or ID card. Additionally, bartering, trading, selling, or simply giving away (or conspiring to do so) an identification card or driver’s license is also a third degree felony under this statute.
Other Third Degree Felonies Under This Statute
It is a third degree felony:
- For an employee of the department to permit or allow the issuance of a driver’s license or identification card when they know that the applicant has failed to fulfill the necessary requirements;
- For a person to simply agree to supply or aid a person with obtaining a fake ID; and
- For a designated sexual predator or offender to possess an ID card that has the sexual predator markings altered or not displayed.
Giving a False Name or Altering the Birth Date
It is against the law to use a false or fictitious name when applying for a driver’s license or identification card, or to knowingly conceal a material fact, make a false statement, or otherwise commit any fraud when applying for a license. Moreover, if a person alters their birth date on their driver’s license or identification card, they have committed a crime. Both of these offenses are punishable by a second degree misdemeanor, which involves a maximum fine of $500 and no more than 60 days in jail.
Providing false information while applying for a commercial vehicle driver’s license learning permit or commits fraud during testing, will be banned from operating any commercial vehicle for 12 months.
Call a West Palm Beach Criminal Defense Lawyer
Possessing a fake ID is a felony in Florida, meaning that you could serve real time behind bars, in addition to a $5,000 fine and being marked as a felon for the rest of your life. We strongly advise you to call a West Palm Beach criminal defense attorney at once whether you or your child has been charged with possession of a fake ID. Call the Skier Law Firm for legal assistance today.