West Palm Beach Criminal Defense
Available 24/7 Free Initial Consultation 561-820-1508
Connect With Us
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Google Plus

Trespassing Charges in West Palm Beach

Trespass

Trespassing is usually charged as a misdemeanor offense in Florida, though it can be charged as a felony if the defendant had a firearm on that at the time of trespass. There are two types of trespassing in Florida, as well as multiple defenses that can be taken to have the charges dropped. If you are facing trespassing charges, do not hesitate to contact a criminal defense attorney today for immediate help.

Trespass in a Structure or Conveyance

According to Florida statute 810.08, trespass in a structure or conveyance is defined as willfully entering or remaining in any structure or conveyance without authorization. This includes being invited onto the premises, but refusing to leave when asked to. Trespass in a structure or conveyance is a second degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a fine of up to $500. However, if a person was present in the structure at the time when the defendant trespassed, the charge will be increased to a first degree misdemeanor. And, if the defendant had a gun on them at the time of trespass, the offense will be charged as a third degree felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of $5,000.

Trespass on Property Other Than a Structure or Conveyance

According to Florida statute 810.09, trespassing on property other than a structure or conveyance, such as a person’s land, is defined as occurring when a person, without permission, willfully enters or remains in any property other than a structure or conveyance and there was actual communication to the offender in the form of a posting, fence, or cultivation. Trespassing on property other than a structure or conveyance results in a first degree misdemeanor charge, which is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of $1,000. Just as is the case of trespassing in a property or structure, if the defendant had a gun on them at the time of trespassing, the offense will be increased to a third degree felony.

Defense of Trespass in West Palm Beach

There are many defenses to trespassing, depending on the specifics of your case. For instance, there may have been a misunderstanding of communication and you did not know that the party intended for you to leave. Or, the required signage of a property, such as a field, was missing, too small to read, or placed in an obscure location. Defenses that we may take include:

  • Lack of notice;
  • Unwillful entry or desire to remain on the property;
  • Implied invitation;
  • Lack of communication or poor communication to leave, or no communication whatsoever; and
  • Signage not posted properly.

Contact a West Palm Beach Criminal Defense Attorney Today

If you have been charged with trespassing in Florida, you need an experienced West Palm Beach attorney to provide the defense required to have the charges dropped. Contact the Skier Law Firm at 561-820-1508 today for immediate assistance.

Resources:

leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0800-0899/0810/Sections/0810.08.html

leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0800-0899/0810/Sections/0810.09.html

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

No content on this site may be reused in any fashion without written permission from www.SkierLawFirm.com

MileMark Media - Practice Growth Solutions

© 2017 The Skier Law Firm, P.A., Attorneys At Law. All rights reserved.
This law firm website is managed by MileMark Media.

Contact Form Tab